under the laws of the said state or province similar exemptions or privileges are granted with respect to motor vehicles registered under the laws of and owned by residents of Alberta. The same applies to drivers' licenses. The Provincial Secretary may revoke or suspend the license of any chauffeur convicted under the provisions of the Liquor Act of selling or having for sale intoxicating liquor. Provision is made for the impounding of cars by the authorities where the owners or drivers are convicted of driving cars while intoxicated or convicted under other sections of the Act relating to speeding and juvenile driving.

British Columbia.—Under the Motor Vehicle Act, and amending Acts, cars are required to be registered with the Superintendent of Provincial Police. Licenses expire on December 31. Foreign registered cars may be used for touring in the province under a touring license issued by the Superintendent of Provincial Police. Cars registered outside the province may be used for 90 days free. No person under the age of 17 may drive a car, and paid chauffeurs must take out licenses. The speed limits are: in cities, towns and villages, 15 miles an hour, in wooded country 15 miles, and in open country 30 miles an hour. A motor may not pass a standing street car at more than 5 miles an hour and must stop if it overtakes the car while taking on or discharging passengers

Yukon Territory.—The Motor Vehicle Ordinance, No. 14, 1914, requires all cars to be registered in the office of the Territorial Secretary, who issues certificates, renewable annually on July 15. A non-resident may operate an unregistered motor for not more than 90 days. No male under 16, and no female under 18 years of age may drive a motor. In cities, towns and villages the speed limit is 15 miles an hour, or 10 miles an hour at street intersections.

25.—Speed	Limits in	miles	per l	hour for	Motor	Vehicles	by	Provinces.

Province.	In cities, towns or villages.	At street inter-sections, bridges, etc.	Where closely built up.	Open country.	Wooded country or obstructed view.	
	Miles per hour.	Miles per hour.	Miles per hour.	Miles per hour.	Miles per hour.	
Prince Edward Island Nova Scotia. New Brunswick Quebec. Ontario. Manitoba. Alberta. British Columbia. Yukon Territory	15 12 16 20 15 20	15 8 	10 15 16 201 —	15 25 25 25 25 — 30	12 15 20 12½ — 112½ —	

Note.—Saskatchewan has no specified speed limits. See "Saskatchewan" on page 550.

¹ Limit in certain specified rural municipalities.